Friggin’ Tires!!


Ok so I will admit that I am not the most observant when it comes to things that need changed.  I do remember about changing my oil much better now than when I was younger.  I do check batteries and remember to buy laundry detergent.  I check things and make sure that we have enough and that we replace when getting low….but I never stop to think about my tires.  Yeah….noticed that my tires were really worn on the front.  Like dangerously so.  Threadbare on one side and cables showing on the other. So I limped it to work this morning BEGGING for it to not go flat before I got here.  Did not think about asking for it not to go flat before I get it to the place to get the new tire…..Soooooo I pulled into the parking lot, parked, opened my door and heard a hiss of air rushing out of my tire.  Daaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaammiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiit!  **Sighs**So now I have to limp it to Wal-Mart to get a new tire in rush hour traffic.  Good thing is that it is close.  Bad thing is that I was sick one day last week so the paycheck is a day short.  Will there ever come a time when I can just get a little ahead??

About wtfhappenedtomyreallife

I am a wife, mother, daughter, sister, cousin, granddaughter, neice, friend, confidant and I am ready to speak my mind. View all posts by wtfhappenedtomyreallife

6 responses to “Friggin’ Tires!!

  • Random Ntrygg

    life is like a glacier

    every time you think you’re a step ahead

    it turns out, you’re actually 2 steps back

    • wtfhappenedtomyreallife

      It actually ended up being my tires, my sway links AND the end of my tie rod was damaged….But at least the damage was less than $350. The two tires were replaced with good used tires for $60 and the rest was about $270 but at a different shop it would have been more. We got a guy that looks out for us. I guess I should be glad it wasn’t worse and that nothing bad happened before I got it fixed. Our guy said that it was a pretty dangerous situation with my car and he was glad it hadn’t turned into tragedy. I was shaking when he told me that.

      • Random Ntrygg

        we took our truck in for regular winter maintenance and tire rotation – and it turned out that the tires were more worn than we were comfortable with, so we bought new tires.

        the garage called us to say that once they had gotten into the job, it turned out that there were some problems with the steering system (it was a bit loose, but had occurred so gradually, that I hadn’t realized as the driver) and there was a problem with the brake head cylinder – we said go ahead with the additional work (we loved these garage guys, so no trust concerns)

        we went back to get the truck – and about $2000 worth of work, include labour and 4 new tires) and we were just leaving when some other part on the truck went sideways and cut the engine – I can’t think of the name of the part, but it interacts between the starter and the engine proper.

        so, push truck back into the bay and another $1000 repair.

        the next time this same part blew – it was a bad design for the year/model – we ended up selling the truck and getting a Saturn Vue hybrid

  • wtfhappenedtomyreallife

    Damn! Hopefully you are having much better luck with the new car. Mine is a 97 Neon and it is still trudging along. I had an 85 Delta 88 before this that ended up catching fire on the highway. That is how I ended up with this car. My cousin had it for sale and my mom helped me get it and then I paid her back for it. I will drive it till the wheels fall off or the engine falls out…then I will find something else as reliable. My credit is crappy thanks to one of the ex’s that raped me….also cleaned out my account and bounced a lot of payments for me. Still working on getting that taken care of.

  • Random Ntrygg

    we exchanged our GMC seirra 1995 in for a Saturn Vue Hybrid

    it’s had three recalls on the battery, but at least that’s covered by the warrantee.

    dunno what we’re gonna get next in a few years, no more Saturn Canada and we’re done with how high handed GM has been with us.

Leave a Reply

