Have you been cheated by Casual Male XL or Destination XL?


This past weekend there was a coupon that was issued for $75 off of a purchase of $100 or more.  The coupon was good through 11-6-11.  When we logged  in on 11-6-11 the coupon would not go through.  One of the orders that my husband had placed has been cancelled and the money refunded.  No email, no call, no notification of any kind.  I contacted their service rep via chat yesterday.  The conversation is listed below.  I did inform the agent that I would be  putting this on my blog.  I am Jeni.  Casual Male’s agent is Diana.  If you feel you have been cheated by this horrible company also, please share your story.

Diana: Hello, my name is Diana. How may I assist you?
Jeni: I was made aware of the coupon you guys had this weekend that was to expire on the 6th.  I went onto the site yesterday to make a purchase for my husband for our upcoming anniversary.  Unfortunately it was saying that the coupon was not valid.  This is highly disappointing because the expiration date was 11-6-11 not 11-5-11.
Jeni: I can understand that there were many people who were taking advantage of the coupon because it really was a great deal…however to pull the coupon early is false advertising.  It is not right that your company did this.  I was not able to get on the computer without him around until yesterday when it still should have been active.
Diana: Thank you for contacting us. I apologize for the inconvenience. One moment please.
Diana: Please provide the email address, you received the promotional offer.
Jeni: I did not receive it via email.  A friend had the coupon and gave it to me.  I am not sure what email address they would have gotten it from.
Diana: Unfortunately, we can not honor the coupon. If you’d like to place an order I can honor 20% off. This is the best that we can do at this time.
Jeni: Well i will be contacting the Better Business Bureau about this.  It is horrible that your company chose not to honor a VALID coupon.  

Diana: I apologize for the disappointment. Our system flagged only the customers that received an email of this promotional offer.   Unfortunately it is no longer valid at this time. I’m sorry.
Jeni: Well i will be contacting a lawyer.  This is false advertising.

Diana: I apologize for the inconvenience.
Jeni: i want the number to your corporate headquarters and the name of your CEO and CFO

 Diana: Our corporate number is 781-828-9300. Our CEO is David Levin.

 Jeni: And the CFO?
 Diana: One moment please.
 Diana: Thank you for your patience. His name is Dennis Hernreich.
Jeni: Thank you.  You know it really is a shame that there are so few places to find quality clothes for plus sized people.  We are damn near forced to shop at your store for my husband, but then we are treated like this.  

Diana: I’m sorry for the disappointment and inconvenience this matter has caused. Unfortunately we can not honor the discount.
Jeni: That is fine.  I am copying this conversation to my very well publicized blog and will let as many people as I know and can get to in the blogosphere and online world know about your false advertising.

About wtfhappenedtomyreallife

I am a wife, mother, daughter, sister, cousin, granddaughter, neice, friend, confidant and I am ready to speak my mind. View all posts by wtfhappenedtomyreallife

21 responses to “Have you been cheated by Casual Male XL or Destination XL?

  • Matt

    I did get my orders in and they cancelled them! I have written emails to every executive with the company. Worst customer service ever! Total joke. Who processes an order takes payment then cancels the order!

    • wtfhappenedtomyreallife

      One of my husband’s orders still shows “in warehouse” but has been refunded. I have emailed their investor relations VP and am in communication with him. I had asked to be put in contact with the CFO and the CEO, but he said that he works directly for them. I sent him a rather lengthy email. He had asked to contact me via telephone but I told him I prefer all communications to be in writing. I will let you know soon how it goes.

  • Breanna

    I, too, was never able to get through by either phone or online to purchase something. Please let me know what you find out- I really, really wanted to take advantage of this deal. I have been searching everywhere to find my husband a Carhartt jacket that we can afford and was so thrilled about this deal. I feel very cheated and am pretty disappointed that I could have FINALLY got this brand of jacket for him. We will probably never be able to afford one at normal cost.

  • Herman Brown

    I wish I had this much free time.

    • wtfhappenedtomyreallife

      It does not take much time to write am email. I wrote an email to Casual Male on my lunch hour to stand up for all of us who have been cheated by their bait and switch. That did not get any kind of satisfaction so I went online to the BBB and filled out their very simple very quick to fill out form. On another break I wrote to the consumer advocate at On Your Side. This is a consumer advocacy site to which I am subscribed. It was as simple as writing a reply to the newletter already in my inbox.

      So when you say things like “I wish I had much free time”…how much time do you think it takes to make a difference and to stand up for yourself when being taken advantage of or treated badly by big business? I don’t know about you, but I make the time to stand up for what is right. I don’t just sit back and let life screw me over, unwilling to make the time to do something about it.

      There are two kinds of people in this world. Those that just take whatever the world does to them and those who stand up and refuse to be pushed around. I choose to be one of the latter.

      • Breanna

        I totally get what you mean, Herman. I wish I had time to seek out, read and comment on blogs that I have no real interest or input in…oh, wait, I don’t have that kind of time!

      • wtfhappenedtomyreallife

        Let’s not contribute and start a flame war. That is not what this blog is for. I appreciate you sticking up for the blog Breanna , but lets not feed the trolls. 🙂

  • Breanna

    I know, I know…I just can’t help myself when I see people being completely contradictory and being ignorant about it. My bad!

  • wtfhappenedtomyreallife

    UPDATE: My husband bought a gift card during the sale. For some reason the coupon applied…so he went ahead and got the gift card for $27 for $102. They charged the $27 and that was great. Then the money was refunded and it appeared that the order was cancelled. They shipped the card and charged the whole $102. This was not the amount authorized. This is not what he had authorized to pay. So this put us in a really bad spot. He is calling Casual Male about it. He has already contacted the bank. We have filed a complaint with the BBB.

  • Paige Stortenbecker

    I placed an order for myself as a gift to my father. And I placed an order on my mother’s behalf as well. My order went through fine. They have since cancelled my mother’s order. I am disgusted that this situation has been so poorly handled. If the company meant for the code to only be used by a few “select” customers, why not generate individual codes for those customers? I spoke to a supervisor and got nowhere. What else can I do?

    • wtfhappenedtomyreallife

      We contacted a consumer advocate. New update: The money for the $102 is being refunded. They cancelled the order and we are now just waiting for the credit to go through on the bank. We are hopeful that the bank will reverse the overdraft charge with minimal fuss. Otherwise, back on the phone with Donovan (the supervisor we spoke with) again to have this straightened out.

      The consumer advocate that we contacted was Christopher Elliott from On Your Side. We also contacted their Vice President of Investor Relations, Jeff Unger and the BBB.

  • weather vanes

    Hello there! Would you mind if I share your blog with my twitter group? There’s a lot of people that I think would really enjoy your content. Please let me know. Thank you

  • Grant

    Hi Jeni,

    I’ve been burned by this type of deal myself, and it’s not a case of the company being evil. They’re just being stupid. In my case, a coupon for a free lasagna cookbook was printed in The Sacramento Bee newspaper. I went to use it on day one, and was told that the cookbooks were already gone!

    Well, I raised hell and was told that the coupon had been compromised somewhere between the lasagna company and the newspaper. By the time it actually got to its target market, all the free cookbooks had been snapped up by folks who printed out the coupon from one of those third
    party sites.

    What slays me is that companies KNOW that these third party sites exist, so why do they continue to irritate good customers by mishandling their coupons the way they do? I was glad to hear that you gave Casual Male XL an earful. I roasted the lasagna folks, too, and by God GOT my cookbook. 🙂

    One last thing… as a male of ‘size’ myself, I’ve purchased all my clothes for years from an online company called KingSizeDirect. Never had a problem, and when you figure out how to play the game, you can save big time. First, go to their website and sign up for their catalog. Then, just sit back and wait. You’ll get a new catalog every couple of months, and you’ll get special online offers. If you play your cards right, eventually offers for ‘free shipping’, ‘free alterations’, ‘buy (a certain number), get (a certain number) free, or ‘percents-off’ will crop up. I just bought half a dozen of their extra large Solid Waffle Weave Henley shirts, originally $27.99-$37.99, reduced to $14.99-$24.99, special offer to ME as a valued, long-term customer of $9.99, with shipping reduced twelve bucks or so to $1.99, and no sales tax! And no, I don’t work for these folks. I’m just a fat old retiree who pinches his pennies. 🙂

  • Random Ntrygg

    being a monopoly is never having to say customer service

    http://theshutinstandup.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

